Weight loss: Remember that it’s all in your head.

I ain’t happy, I’m feelin glad,

I got sunshine in a bag.

Remember this Gorillaz song?

We aren’t talking about The Gorillaz or Clint Eastwood today, but I did think of this song when writing this post because weight loss is all in your head.

I read an article in the Huffington post yesterday with advice from people who have lost a significant amount of weight, and all of them agreed that it had more to do with getting over the emotional baggage rather than the fatty baggage.

It really does amaze me how many people think losing weight does not have a mental aspect to it; they truly believe it is all about diet and exercise- if they can’t lose weight it is because of their genetics, or they just don’t have enough will power.

Sweet friends, please believe me when I tell you this, you deserve to feel beautiful and healthy. 

Most people do not even realize they have destructive self- talk until it is brought to their attention- with a conscious awareness of this you can stop it before it starts.

Whether your psychological road blocks have to do with not feeling worthy of a healthy life, using food as a source of comfort, or secretly feeling more comfortable overweight because you think that is what defines you, I want to share some positive ways you can move forward and break through these emotional and mental roadblocks.

*If you feel like your issues are deeper than being able to help yourself, I encourage you to seek professional help, and don’t feel ashamed about it- you are doing it for your health and well- being, and that is nothing to be ashamed of.

1. Take care of yourself first. In order for you to care for your loved ones, you must care for yourself first.

Don’t feel bad about spending time on yourself to become a better you by losing weight and living a healthy life. Everyone will benefit

2. Be mindful of WHY you are eating when you are not hungry. Are you bored? Stressed? Overwhelmed? Or is it deeper issues from your past?

If you don’t deal with negative experiences from your past they will always pop up to sabotage your weight loss goals.

move on

3. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Because it IS small. So you ate one too many cookies, maybe you ate the whole damn box. Big deal. It happens, and the best thing to do is shake it off and move on. Stressing about it will only cause further anxiety and inner turmoil, leading to more unhealthy behaviors.

Don’t give up your healthy living goals because of one mistake.

4. Take a look; it’s in a book– Seriously. Read books and articles from people who have struggled with a similar situation. If you  struggle with binge eating, then research it and find books with authors who have actually struggled with it as well. Someone who has never dealt with this issue can talk all day long, but at the end of the day their words are empty because they have no clue what you are going through.

    hungrybook food love

Knowledge is power, so the more you know, the easier it is to get a grip on your situation

5. Stay in a positive frame of mind. This is crucial for life in general. We must be aware when we are allowing our minds to listen to our little devil angel on our left shoulder, Miss. Negative Nancy.

She is a bitch who is jealous of you.  

Negative thinking leads to destructive behaviors. If we are aware of this and try our best to control our thinking, we have these thoughts less often.

doubt

(Source)

Take care of yourself and fight for the healthy life you deserve.

“When I feel grace is with me, it is as if the universe enters my soul and fills me up with promise. I am exploding with potential.” Michelle Berman Marchildon

side crow

Have a great day, beautiful.

Questions:

Have you guys ever struggled with losing weight? 

Do you have any advice on how to get past the emotional roadblocks? 

22 thoughts on “Weight loss: Remember that it’s all in your head.

  1. I completely agree with this. When I was trying to lose weight after high school, I put my mind in the right place and actually had an enjoyable experience losing the 20 pounds of extra weight I had. Instead of focusing on losing weight, that is eating less and working out more, I focused on having fun with fitness and nourishing my body with really healthy foods; it was actually just a really positive experience. However, when I started losing weight a couple of years ago (when I didn’t need to), it came from a more negative place, which led to bad consequences. It definitely is all within your mindset!
    Great post!

  2. Aaaand now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head for the rest of the day — thanks for that 😛

    I read that article from HP yesterday as well and really enjoyed it. I find that a lot of food issues, whether it be overeating or restriction, are usually just symptoms of something else, so trying to treat the food issues is pretty much just putting a bandaid over a deeper problem. It really is all about finding peace within ourselves and realizing that we’re worth taking care of.

  3. Amazing post! I think so many of the issues that surround food and eating (whether it be overeating or undereating) have far more to do with emotional issues than with the food itself. I think when it comes to weight loss a strict eating and regimen has been the norm to success but people must realize that this rigidity is not something that is healthy in the long term. At some point you will have to let go of the reigns and trust that your body will tell you what to do. In my opinion the strict dieting that comes with weight loss ends up being far more detrimental to people in the long run than the extra weight they carry. But that’s just me!

    • You are so right. I have heard so many clients talk about a new diet, and most of the time it has to do with too much restriction. It is so scary to have to trust that you won’t eat yourself out of house and home, but once you do it feels like a weight has been lifted off, literally!

  4. I completely agree! Weight loss requires a little self evaluation to figure out which aspects of our lives are self destructive. I know when I was loosing weight, it took 4 months with a therapist to realize how much emotional baggage I was holding onto. It was that emotional baggage that hindered my weight loss.

    Thanks for the great and inspiring read!

  5. Such a great post. I find a lot of the time when I eat and I’m not actually hungry, it is because I’m bored and somehow my brain programed itself to turn to food in lulls. It’s something I make a conscious effort to work on.

    • It’s great that you are aware of it, that’s more than most people can say! When something unexpected happens to me that is stressful I automatically want to eat something sweet, but when I am aware of what is going on it is much easier to kick the cravings.

  6. I love this post! I don’t think I’ve ever realized how much of weight loss is mental until this time around (I’ve lost and gained the same 40 pounds a few times.) I never seemed to get past that 40 lb. mark because I wasn’t paying attention to the mental aspect – I was more paying attention to exercising and counting calories and not really paying attention to WHY I eat for comfort, or anything like that. This time around, the weight loss is slower, but I feel like I already weigh so much less mentally and that’s enough for me 🙂

  7. What a beautiful post, Heather. You are SO right about much of the battle being mental, and that people don’t realize the negative things they are saying unless you tell them. It’s sad, but true. These are really great tips, though. Love yourself first and BELIEVE in yourself. Also, that yoga pose is awesome!

Leave a Reply

