My top 5 tips for avoiding fall/ winter weight gain.

Weight gain sometimes seems inevitable when fall/ winter rolls around and for a good reason- the holidays are upon us and the weather is getting colder, so our bodies crave the coziness of the couch and warm creamy comfort foods.

It surprises me how many people accept the fact that they will gain weight and not do anything to avoid it. Let’s not be those people this winter, okay?

Here are some great tips for keeping that bod you have worked hard for all summer.

top tips

1. Stock up on workouts you can do at home. I know it can be extremely hard to make it to that spin class when it is 30 degrees outside and still dark, or how badly you want to go straight home after work for a relaxing glass of red wine instead of hitting the gym; that’s fine with me- just take your workout to the living room. You can get an amazing workout at home; it all depends on how hard you want to push yourself.

Look to YouTube, Pinterest, Google and your favorite healthy living blog for inspiration. Stock up on workouts you can do at your house, so when you come home from work you will have one ready to go and not have to sit on the internet for 30 minutes looking for one!

lower body collage

2. Don’t skimp on the meal prep and try to bring your lunch to work as often as possible. This one is a biggie. If you continue to prep your food for the week and plan your meals out, you’re way less likely to overdo it on holiday treats.

vacay donuts

 The office can quickly fill with goodies this time of year, so bring your lunch as much as you can to avoid eating three brownies for lunch instead of a kale salad.

3. Eat before hitting the holiday soirees.  Fill up on fruits and veggies before the party to avoid craving the sugar- filled holiday drinks and cookies.

One study suggests we eat 40% more when in a social setting, but a snack with carbs and some protein beforehand will greatly reduce the risk of this happening.

lindy heather

4. Ditch the leggings for skinny jeans.  It can be tempting to live in leggings and boots during the winter, but you may have a rude awakening come spring. Comfy clothes give you permission to be lazy and indulge more because you can’t tell when your clothes are fitting a little tighter. How my clothes fit is the number one factor in determining if I have lost or gained weight (I don’t weight myself). Trade the leggings out for skinny jeans- you can still rock your boots!

5. DO NOT get trapped in the all or nothing mindset.  I preach this all the time, but now is the worst possible time to have this mindset because let’s be honest, you are going to eat one too many servings of mac and cheese, and you will probably drink one too many glasses of wine catching up with friends and family, and that is okay! Enjoy yourself and the wonderful company you re in. The next day drink a tall glass of water and sweat it out in your living room!

sam and heather

Love you long time, Sammy.

We can avoid packing on the pounds, it just takes some effort, but it will be totally worth it when you can rock the New Year’s Eve dress you bought on sale last summer! (am I the only one who does this?)

Have a great day, friends!

Question of the day:

What are your secrets to avoid winter weight gain?

27 thoughts on “My top 5 tips for avoiding fall/ winter weight gain.

  1. PREACH THIS LIST TO EVERYONE!
    my #1 trick to avoid eating crap at restaurants where i’m not familiar with the menu is to eat *before* i go…then i can still have a light appy and maybe a drink while socializing with friends AND i’ve prevented the stuffing of my face with endless calories!

    and i’m ALL ABOUT BRINGING LUNCH TO WORK. i haven’t bought lunch at work in 2 years. you should see the cooler of food i lug to work every day!

    • I feel much more in control when I am not starving at a restaurant! I just don’t trust myself with unhealthy foods and a growling stomach! It’s great that you are so good about bringing your lunch! I feel like once you make a habit of it you don’t think twice about it! Hey, it’s better to have too many healthy foods than not enough and end up at the vending machine!

  2. These are wonderful—I am a huge fan of #1. At home workouts are my go-to’s in the wintertime because walking to the gym usually sounds so unappealing. However, #4 is something I should probably work on…. heh I love leggings. I’m going to try to keep them to a minimum when out in public this year for the sake of my pride.

  3. I TOTALLY support bringing work to lunch all year round. I notice a real difference from when I used to eat lunch in the (very delicious, but often unhealthy) cafeteria at work every day. It was just the norm where I worked – no one brought lunch, but now I am in control of what goes in my food, the portion sizes that I eat, and the kind of meal that I have in general. Plus I save a whole lot of money.

    • I know what you mean; when I can tell I have gained some weight I try to take care of it as soon as possible because the longer you wait, the easier it is to keep the extra lbs around! Eating before holiday parties have been a lifesaver for me in the past!

  4. These are great tips! I eat lunch at work more when it’s cold because I’m too lazy to put on my coat and go outside, haha. I also tend to make more soups and pots of chili when it’s cold, which are both healthy and make awesome leftovers.

    • haha when I found that picture I totally missed the donut shop that w ate at EVERY morning while we were at the beach. We are going back Thanksgiving and you better believe that will be my breakfast at least one morning while we are there. 🙂 I am a shameful legging wearer as well, even more now that I work from home and at a gym! I am your typical yoga pant wearin’ mom.. 🙂

  5. Great list, food prep is definitely key for me whatever the season. If I don’t prep or organise myself a head of time I always fall into the takeaway trap. Working out I am lucky there is a gym downstairs in our apartment building so the weather is never an excuse not to go 😉

  6. Yes I totally agree!! This is the time of year I switch from skinny minny clothing to legitimately cozy, loose clothing. I love it, but I know that it allows for some flexibility in my regimen – which is BAD NEWS BEARS! Luckily I have been training for things so I think I’ll be okay with working out – but the sweets thing is going to KILL ME! Big time! ❤
    You are S-T-U-N-N-I-N-G!!!! Beautiful, lady!

    • Thank you lady! I am a big photoshopper.. no shame. 🙂 Girl, my sweet tooth is out of control. My biggest thing, and I can’t believe I didn’t put it on the list, is not keeping it in my house because I seriously will eat all the sweets! Joseph loves them too and it’s kind of hilarious. I know I shouldn’t let him eat some of the stuff I do, but the kid just lights up when he sees it! I can’t resist. 🙂 I put the legging one on here because I am the worst about wearing yoga leggings everywhere- and I still rock my 3 year old Uggs with them because they are so comfy. I don’t care if I am trying to look like a college student.. Have a good day, girl!

Leave a Reply

