Unexpected inspiration from a stranger..

Hey guys!

I hope you all had a great weekend and it wasn’t too terribly sad waking up to a Monday.

We had a fun weekend in the Murphy household. I told you guys Friday  I was running a 5k for breast cancer awareness, well I had no idea I was going to run it until a couple days before. A lady that was running with my mom wasn’t feeling well and decided it would be best to sit this one out; mom knew I would enjoy it, so I took her place.

5k mom me

Mom and me before the race.

I felt really good when the race started and came up on mile one at 7:45. I noticed I was keeping the same pace as a guy in front of me, and although I could tell he was a stronger runner, I decided I was going to stay with him until we crossed the finish line. Holy moly, he was definitely a motivator.. I knew he could tell what I was doing and I think it made him push harder as well. Towards the end of the race I passed him, but knew he would come in strong at the very end. I got over my last hill and could see the finish line, but seriously thought I was going to throw up.  Around that time my buddy came running past me with encouraging words to push it, we were almost there! I ended up finishing at 22:20!

joe and mommy race

He found me afterwards to congratulate me and I told him that I would have never pushed myself that hard if it wasn’t for my decision to keep up with him in the beginning.

I ended up coming in 16th out of 1200 women!

I know it is only a 5k and that is like a sprint for all you serious runners, but running has not been a big part of my life in over a year; I only do it once or twice a week to warm up before my workout, so I was pretty excited about the outcome.

race

Charlie and I were going to go mountain biking Sunday but the grandparents couldn’t keep Joseph, so I ended up jogging to the gym for an upper body circuit. The jog was gorgeous and I couldn’t help but feel incredibly blessed to live in my neck of the woods.

neighborhood

We ended the weekend with a stroll in the park

joe mommy walking

 

Have a great day!

Questions of the day:

Have you ever been motivated by a stranger during a race?

Did you end up doing better because of it?

16 thoughts on “Unexpected inspiration from a stranger..

  1. Congrats on a great race! That’s a wonderful 5K time. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been motivated by other runners. There is an amazing trail runner who is always right with me during races, and we push each other to the line every time. After the race, we exchange high fives and words of encouragement & support. I love that about the running community!!

Leave a Reply

