No funnies today, just my story..

So, I have been blogging for awhile now and I haven’t really told you guys ‘my story’. People ask me all the time why I am such a fitness nut, or why I am motivated to workout as much as I do, and why I actually, dare I say, like it..

See, food and I have a history. I went through a Β very rough time at one point in my life and as a result I developed some extremely unhealthy, and dangerous habits. Long story short, I deprived myself for as long as I could, then I would make up for what I didn’t eat times ten.

The most screwed up part about the whole thing is I seriously thought food was the root of my unhappiness, not the fact that my dad was (is) an alcoholic, my parents were going through a nasty divorce, and I just broke up with my first love, Β someone I had unknowingly relied on as my source of stability and normalcy for the last 4 1/2 years.

It took about 3 1/2 years to realize how everything was connected, and I slowly started healing. My life was an emotional shit- show, in which most of it I had no control over, thus the feeling to control my food.. aha! The more aha! moments I had, the better my relationship with food became.

I know some people will think I am being dramatic when I say this, but I wouldn’t have been able to get through all of this without fitness. It is what I turned to when nothing else could lift me up. I worked through problems while running, all the while endorphin’s were being pumped throughout my body. I could decipher what was truth and what was a lie when working out. It was one of the only times my mind was clear.

It has been about three years since feeling out of control with my eating habits. There are times when life gets crazy and I get the urge to ‘control’ my diet, and sometimes I even catch myself falling into old habits, but I know I will never go back to the place I was before because of what I learned the first go- around.

The reason I am such a fitness nut is because it saved my life.

I have an urgency in my heart to help others who are going through similar situations. I want people to see that fitness is so much more than vanity.

I am not going to lie, this was extremely hard to share, but it has been weighing on my heart for several months now. I knew if I wanted to make a difference in someone’s life I had to tell my story.

Thanks for listening, my beautiful peeps. πŸ™‚

headstand

 

28 thoughts on “No funnies today, just my story..

  1. Thanks for sharing your story!!! I think a lot of us (myself included) have a tendency to fall into bad habits with regards to food/dieting/weight loss, and it can lead to such a downward spiral. I had a similar problem two years ago that I still feel the consequences of today; the worst part was losing control after controlling myself for extended periods of time. The emotional ups and downs really took a toll on my life, and because of that stress and upset, I never ever would want to go back to that place!!!!

    Keep going strong πŸ™‚
    Natasha

  2. I’m so glad you shared your story! I’ve always admired how much you know about fitness, and the fact that you share it with us all. It’s easy to get caught up in bad habits, be they from eating, exercise, or otherwise. I’m glad you have gotten to the place where you are now!

  3. WOW. I love hearing people’s stories and yours is no less than incredible. It’s amazing when people come to the realization that the food and eating isn’t the problem, it’s a cover-up for what is really going on. I’m so happy for you that you had the strength to share your story with us. Keep on running, lifting those weights, doing crazy yoga poses and inspiring all of us!

  4. Amazing. Thank you for sharing… I am so glad you did! It is truly wonderful to read and see how far you have clearly come. I think finding the underlying problems or struggle is the hardest part. I applaud you for doing so and am so glad you feel happy.

  5. Heather,
    A very sweet story. I have watched you grow up over the past 20 + years and saw the struggles. So proud of you. What a beautiful young lady you have become.

    Ms. Donna

  6. I needed to hear this and can relate on every level…i am getting help right now and it is the hardest thing I have had to tackle. I am so lucky that my doctors are still “allowing” me to workout– i think they realize that taking that away from me would do more harm than good!!

    Your story is special and know that you are absolutely making a difference in peoples lives all the time…. thank you!

    • I’m so glad you are getting the help you deserve and just know all of this makes you a stronger person everyday and you will get through it! I’m glad they are allowing you to exercise too because that seriously saved me. Good luck and stay strong girl!

  7. Pingback: Legs and booty circuit | Mrs. Murphy's Law of Fitness

Leave a Reply

