How to NOT feel like a stiff- legged robot after an intense workout

Happy Monday!

I hope you guys had a great weekend. I am still not feeling %100 better, but I am pushing through! It’s not really an option to get sick when you have a 1 year old..

joe joe momm

I swear by This stuff..

airborne

The lemon lime flavor is the best.

We had a pretty low key weekend since I wasn’t feeling well, and Joseph spent the night with his grandparents Friday. Guess what he did while he was there?

clifford

He LOVES Clifford! He adores animals, even big red dogs, and every time he sees a puppy or cat he flips out.

Charlie and I went for a trail run on Saturday and it was rough! I was sore from a lower body workout I did the day before, and I haven’t been doing steady state cardio as much as I should be, so 45 minutes about killed me!

When I got home I took some precautions to ensure I was able to walk the next day.

Here are some important things you can do to prevent soreness:

1. Stretch– Loosening up the muscles will prevent you from feeling stiff the next day. It also helps speed up the recovery process.

2. FOAM ROLL, FOAM ROLL, FOAM ROLL– This hurts so good! You can find the benefits of foam rolling here.

3.  Ice, ice, baby– An ice bath will knock it out, but if you aren’t tough enough (I’m not), you can ice the muscle immediately after the workout to reduce inflammation.

4. Keep moving- I know all you feel like doing is sitting your butt down on the couch and watching the Real Housewives of NJ marathon (it’s all I feel like doing), but try to keep moving to keep your muscles loose and get the blood flowing. You can march in place while watching the marathon.

5. Soak in a warm bath with Epsom salt– This feels glorious after a long workout, or just a hard day. The Epsom salt relieves stress and relaxes your body. It also reduces pain and muscle soreness

epsom salt

I hope this was helpful and you never have sore  muscles again!

What do you do to prevent soreness after a hard workout?

12 thoughts on “How to NOT feel like a stiff- legged robot after an intense workout

  1. I’ve tried all of those for soreness. Like another reader said, I’m a bit of a wuss when it comes to ice baths (I have a feeling many are…)….simple stretching seems to work the best for me, though.

    P.s. Your little one is adorable. Ours just passed the 10 month mark, and we are starting to plan for his 1st birthday coming up in late November. 🙂

    • I have never tried an ice bath and probably never will- I hate the cold! Stretching and foam rolling usually does the trick for me as well! Thanks! I LOVED planning his first birthday, and although I didn’t start as early as most, it still turned out great! 🙂 Have fun!

  2. I absolutely agree with all of these! Foam rolling has really saved my life this year! Between running like crazy and not being awesome at stretching, the foam roller has come to the rescue. Girl your son is on the right path – Clifford is by far the BEST ever! I loved those books when I was a young tot. 🙂

    • I think I love the foam roller so much because I am so bad about stretching, so it comes in to save the day! Clifford is the best! I love that he loves animals, even though I have really enjoyed NOT having one the last year.. no hair, no allergies, no smell, and the couch all to myself. It has been nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

