Weekend recap and a kale and squash cake recipe

Hi Friends,

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend!

Ours was great and involved friends, family, football and food. What more could you ask for?

Friday I made the BEST black bean and quinoa burgers.

black bean burger

Recipe to come in the next couple weeks!

Saturday we had some friends and family over for the Auburn game. Of course I didn’t get any pictures- we just had too much fun!

Sunday we laid around and Joseph and I watched a Harry Potter marathon. (Haters gonna hate)

lazy sunday

We also made brownies.

brownie joe

I have been craving these for weeks and finally gave in!

ice cream

We also made the kale and squash cakes I talked about last week and I have the recipe for you guys today!

kale cakes

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1 squash

1 cup kale

1 small onion

1 clove garlic

1/2 cup cooked quinoa

Directions:

1. Chop onion, garlic and squash to prepare for blending.

2. Put all ingredients in blender and mix

3. Heat 1/8 inch olive oil in pan

4. Drop a tablespoon of batter in pan and cook 2-3 min per side (think pancakes!)

Enjoy!

I hope you guys have a great Monday!

Did you try any new recipes this weekend?

18 thoughts on “Weekend recap and a kale and squash cake recipe

  1. Will definitely be trying this recipe, although I have a whole bag of spinach that I forgot to put in my veggie lasagna last night, so I might swap the kale for that. Also HELLO, Blue Bell ice cream!! They don’t sell it all the way up here, but it makes my heart melt when I see it because it just reminds me of home and being a little kid.

  2. Um- yummmm!!! I’m so excited to try this recipe! Btw- you let those haters hate and keep watching Harry Potter. I could seriously watch those movies over and over- they’re so good!

  3. Does it matter what kind of squash? Do you need to cook beforehand? The recipe looks delish but after a major sweet potato cake/fritter fail this weekend I don’t know if I can handle anymore kitchen disasters 😉 Thanks lady! Your weekend looked splendid. You and Joseph are the cutest!

Leave a Reply

