why I will always choose shorter workouts for weight loss

Good Morning! I hope everyone is enjoying their week and reality didn’t slap you in the face too hard yesterday.  It wasn’t too bad for me since we didn’t go out of town.

I am still struggling with taking Joseph to school because he cries every time, but I know it will get easier. I have thought about just not making him go back, but I know this will help him (especially if I am planning on not having anymore kids) so I can’t give up on him.

I read a great article this weekend in the Huffington post on the importance of the intensity of your workout over the duration.

I am firm believer in short, intense workouts and it is great to see studies that actually confirm the benefits.

willy wonka

I honestly think people are too concerned with how long they are working out and do not bother trying to exercise if they can’t get in an hour or more. They think it isn’t worth it. Most clients are surprised when I tell them doing an intense 20 minute interval workout can burn more calories than a 45 min run.

burn 800 calories

The article says that the intensity of a workout matters more than the duration when it comes to preventing weight gain.
The study showed that for an additional minute each day of high- intensity exertion, obesity odds decreased 5% for women and 2% for men. Another study showed that high intensity training can help decrease the risk of metabolic syndrome (high blood pressure, high glucose levels, low levels of good cholesterol, etc.) by 40%!

mory

As a new mom who is juggling being a parent, wife and having a new career, I enjoy high intensity training because I feel like I get in a great workout in under 30 minutes, which is all a I have to dedicate to working out sometimes.

Here are some of my favorite circuit workouts that leave me sore for days after:

30 min full body attack back to school arms and abs

beach ready arms and legs

Do you enjoy High intensity training or a leisurely, long workout?

20 thoughts on “why I will always choose shorter workouts for weight loss

  1. Hahaha I love the memes. I saw the first one with Wonka except it was with the little African child, know which one? Same writing too. Too funny. I agree – intensity is where it’s at. I know it. Great workouts.

  2. Usually my long workouts are long runs, and although I’m not pushing as hard as I possibly can, they are always uncomfortable for me. Meaning by the time I get to mile 4 or 5, I am tired, I know that I’m going to be sore, and I am willing myself to keep running. Some days are better than others, but to me running feels like a long, but also intense, workout. I’m sure as I do it more, it will feel easier and easier, but that’s where I am right now.

  3. So funny that you have that first meme up there – I literally just said that to my boss this morning after telling him about my HIIT workout on the treadmill last night. I said it’s really the only thing that machine is good for. I did sprint intervals and it killed. I loved it. I hate running, but I’m down with some heart pumping sprints. HIIT is always the way to go. Meghan and I used to make up our own circuits all the time (she still does). If I’m goign to work out for a long time, it’s going to be in the weight room. I like taking my time and just zoning out in there. Great post!

    • One of my clients pointed out a lady taking a leisurely stroll on the treadmill (while I was kicking her tail) and asked how that did anything. I told her didn’t. She then pointed out that the gym might have a TV channel the lady doesn’t have at home! haha I feel you on the weight room! Cardio machines are for the birds- except, like you said, for intervals.

  4. Amen to that! Thank goodness shorter, high intensity workouts are more effective! It seems like I can’t ever get myself out of bed “on time” in the mornings, so I’m always looking for a short workout that will still make going to the gym worth it, even if I only have 30min. 🙂

  5. Absolutely. When cutting weight it is always about diet control. People often try to restrict too many calories and do looooong workouts. All this does it cause someone to lose muscle! I tend to lift heavy for low volume when I cut. I don’t lose much muscle, keep my strength and the fat flies off. Also it is easier to control my diet when I don’t feel like I need to eat 2,000 calories because of a marathon workout

Leave a Reply

