tips on how to stay healthy during the holiday season

Hey Friends!

I hope everyone had an amazing Thanksgiving. I know we did and it definitely made me feel extremely thankful for all that I have been blessed with. I know it is easy to get caught up in the madness the holidays can bring but I do try to take time to be in the moment and feel grateful for all the happiness in my life.

We spent thanksgiving at the gulf and it was so much fun. It was Joseph’s first time to see the ocean and put his feet in the sand. The weather could not have been better and even though it was a little chilly on the beach we still got to spend some time there.

I am pretty sure Joseph is going to love the beach as much as his parents.

While at the beach it was a little more difficult to get my workouts in. I felt like it was much harder to work them in while being away for Thanksgiving break than if I were at home. It made me think about all the people who travel during the holidays and how much more difficult it is for them to stay healthy.

I have listed some important staples that I try to live by during the holidays to make sure I keep my health in check while enjoying this time of year without guilt.

1. Schedule your workouts– I use the word schedule loosely here. I know that you will not always be able to follow the schedule but it is a lot easier to get going and workout if you don’t have to think about what you are going to do. Schedule shorter workouts that really get your heart rate up in a short amount of time. They are more bang for the buck and you will be able to fit them in your busy schedule.

2. Work compound exercises into your routine– These will hit multiple muscle groups in one exercise and if you do them as a circuit you will also get your cardio in. I love the article I found on greatist.com about cardio- based bodyweight exercises. It gives you some ideas you can use to create your own routine. Some of my favorite compound exercises are the squat, burpee, push- up, mountain climber and plank.

3. WATER!!- This is a BIG one. Being dehydrated will affect your skin, appetite and your health in general. Staying hydrated will help prevent you from getting sick. It will keep your skin looking fresh and clear. Also, drinking enough water will keep you from feeling hungry. If you drink a glass or two before you eat it will keep you from overeating because it will make you feel full.

4. Don’t skip meals– This will keep you from eating too much of the wrong foods. Make sure you eat before a party so you don’t get carried away with the grazing we all do so well.

5. Portion control– This is something people should take into consideration year round. We all know this, but make a conscious effort to do this during the holidays so we do not get carried away. Try not to have seconds either.

6. Eat your food slowly and enjoy how it tastes– Eating slowly will allow your body realize when it is full. We don’t get to eat these types of foods often. We should take time to enjoy it!

7. Listen to your body– If you take time to listen to your body it will tell you when you have had enough. When you feel satisfied stop eating.

8. Fill up on fruits and veggies– try to get larger portions of the greens. Well, any vegetable really. They will fill you up and are better for you than the stuffing and dressing.

9. DO NOT deprive yourself– I am all about enjoying the foods I love. It is a part of living life to the fullest. If you don’t eat the foods you really want, you will more than likely binge on them later.

10. Do not beat yourself up– Don’t be so hard on yourself if you do eat too much or haven’t been able to workout as much as you wanted to. Accept that it happened and move on! No one is perfect. Enjoy this special time you have with family and friends and stay positive.

I hope these suggestions will help you stay healthy and happy this holiday season. If you need ideas on workouts than visit my strength/ circuit training page.

How do you stay healthy during the holidays?

2 thoughts on “tips on how to stay healthy during the holiday season

Leave a Reply

