My slight obsession with Hobby Lobby, cheerleading and Mustaches

Hello friends!

I hope everyone had a great weekend. The weather has been great here so we tried to get out and about. We went to look at bikes for me and I think we have decided on one. Shout out to Trailhead Inc!

This is our first Christmas as a married couple so I decided it was probably a good idea to get some ‘grown- up’ Christmas decorations.. Charlie, bless him, actually has some but they are the ultimate bachelor decorations. Charlie Brown Christmas tree and blue lights.. Yikes!

Hobby lobby is having a huge sale with all of their Christmas decorations 40% off so you know I had to go spend too much money on decorations I will only have up for a month. I had to absolutely muster up all the self- control I had not to go crazy. I know, I’m a nerd and I love Hobby Lobby.

Here are some of my gems:

I still need a wreath but I’m still deciding if I want to make it or buy one.

While I was watching the Today Show Friday I overheard them talking about how the American Academy of Pediatrics have put out a new set of guidelines for coaches and schools to adhere to for cheerleading programs. I spent most of ages 13-18 devoted to cheerleading so this caught my attention.. It is extremely competitive where I am from and we competed in several competitions every year including Nationals at ESPN’s Wide World of Sports in Orlando, Florida.

I am the flyer on the far left. Yea, I was excited..

My senior year we placed first in the Nation and to this day I consider it one of my favorite accomplishments.

After winning nationals

We were even on ESPN! Woohoo! 🙂

The rate of serious injuries has risen so they are trying to get Cheerleading classified as a sport (which it is!) so they will have to follow the same rules and regulations as other activities that are considered sports.

The guidelines states that cheerleading should have qualified instructors, medical care and surveillance just like other sports. There should be a pre- season physical and access to qualified strength and conditioning coaches. The cheerleaders should be properly trained in spotting and can only perform stunts and tumbling on certain surfaces. They also state that pyramids should be no more than two people high.

I agree with most of these guidelines. Competitive cheerleading should be considered a sport. You work your butt off year round and push yourself physically and mentally so far. Most of my memories from middle school and high school are honestly ALL of cheerleading because it consumed all my time!

I think cheerleaders should have access to qualified coaches and should be properly trained in spotting. What I don’t agree with is the two person high pyramid rule. Just two people high? That’s no fun! If you are on a mat with qualified coaches and the cheerleaders are properly trained on spotting than there will be far less injuries. Injuries result from uneducated coaches, cheerleaders AND hardwood floors..

I know this probably bored you to tears if you have no interest in cheerleading but it was interesting to me.

I will post the articles in my my Fitness and Health Articles page.

Now onto my workout! I named it my ‘Mustachified booty workout’ simply because I love the mustache trend and PicMonkey had tons of funny facial hair templates. 🙂 It is a silly name, but the workout is no joke!

 

I love the mustashified app on my Iphone as well.. I’m a nerd.

Let me know how you guys like it!

Question of the day:

Were you involved in a competitive sport in high school?

did it consume most of your time?

5 thoughts on “My slight obsession with Hobby Lobby, cheerleading and Mustaches

Leave a Reply

