Mountain biking for the first time and new holiday traditions

Good morning!

I am so excited to announce that Joseph has slept through the night FIVE nights in a row! AAHH! I know tonight he will be up every two hours because of the gloating I am doing now, but I couldn’t help myself.

This morning we had to get up early (4:30!) to take my mom to the airport.

 

She is going to the Grand Canyon where she will be doing a two day hiking trip. Way to go mamma! I love the fact that my mom is healthy and active. It gives me hope for my future! 🙂

My mom has more exciting adventures than I do! Oh well, I guess I will have to live vicariously through her until Joseph is older and we can have a little fun ourselves.

Charlie and I DID get to have some fun Sunday. We went mountain biking at Monte Sano State Park!

I love spending time there because it is so beautiful and peaceful.

This was my first time mountain biking and I loved it! It was hard work and a little scary at first, there were a couple times I was sure I was going to plummet to my doom, but it was exciting. I don’t have my own bike so I used my moms, another example of how much more adventurous she is thane me. I’ve decided I am going to get one for Christmas so we can go more often. I would like to go on some sort of mountain biking trip every year in the fall/ holidays, even if it is just camping out at Monte Sano.

After having said that, I have heard about a lot of families using the holidays as an excuse to get active together. Some families participate in one or more of the many races that most cities have during the holidays, or take a trip to a national park for a hiking or mountain biking experience. I think this is such a great idea. Many cities are now hosting events like this to give families a more mobile’ option for holiday activities.

This is two years ago when it snowed ON Christmas! This is a big deal in the south because we don’t see a lot of that white powder.

I like the idea of focusing on some sort of physical activity I will be doing for the holidays, along with the tradidional stuffing my face because that will be happening too. 🙂

As for my exercise challange for November, it is going great. I love working out multiple times a day for short, intense bursts. It is the perfect schedule for a mamma with a baby who takes cat naps and demands your undivided attention the rest of the time..

So, what do you guys think about making holiday traditions more ‘active’?

Would you enjoy taking a trip to a state park for a hiking trip on Thanksgiving, or do you prefer the more traditional approach of unbuttoning your pants ( or wear jeggings, maybe?) and kickin’ back to enjoy the football game?

2 thoughts on “Mountain biking for the first time and new holiday traditions

  1. Ok, how did you get the little guy to sleep through the night AND what do you consider sleeping through the night?

    I’ve got a 4 month old and he used to sleep 6 hours, eat, then sleep 4-5 more which was great for us. This past week he’s been waking up every 3-4 hours 😦

    • I know the feeling! You are Lucky he slept so much in the beginning, mine is a cat napper that normally sleeps 3-4 hrs at night. Here recently he has slept about nine hours at night. I honestly do not know what changed. His dr told me to try to get him to take longer naps during the day so that’s what I’ve been trying to do. Also, have you started feeding him cereal yet? We haven’t yet but I’ve heard it helps them sleep better. We plan on starting at four months. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

