Ab sandwich workout!

Hey friends,

I hope everyone is having a great week. It’s the weekend! woohoo! Charlie’s cousin is getting married so we will get to have an ‘adult’ weekend and it could’nt come soon enough! I need a break..

If you read my last post you know that this week has not been the best. I have been a mommy for 10 weeks now and it is catching up to me. I haven’t slep longer than four hours at a time and have a little person attached to my milk makers EVERY two hours. He is only 10 weeks old and weighs 13 lbs and 11 ozs and fights his sleep with all his might. Needless to say, I am exhausted.. I think that breast feeding is the most demanding part about having a new baby. I love the bond that it allows me to have with my son, but it is draining. Needless to say, I have needed a break.

In most cases exercise makes me feel energized and balanced, but I needed a few days of rest. My body was exhausted. I had been working out at least 5 days a week starting back two weeks after giving birth and I had no idea how it effected my body with having hardly any sleep and caring for an infant 24/7. I took Sunday- wednesday off. I probably should have taken more but by thursday I was feeling antsy and was pretty stressed out so I decided I needed a release.

I definitely needed those four days off. I felt re-energized. It is so important to LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! I know I have said this before but it is crucial to keeping your body healthy and avoiding injury. I learned to be more in tune with my body when I was pregnant. I knew I needed to be healthy for my baby. It became easier to just stop when I was pushing too hard or take a few days off when my body had had enough. It sounds silly, but it was exhilirating to take a much needed break from working out and not feel like my muscles would turn to mush.

When I decided to get back at it on Thursday I did a new workout that I created for myself called the “Ab Sandwich”. 🙂 It is basically arm exercises+ cardio with a few core moves stuck in the middle. 3 in 1! I then did my October challange.

Me and my main squeeze after our workout.

I have attached the workout below. You can also find this and other workouts on the Strength/ circuit training page.

Do this circuit 2-3 times with no breaks in between each exercise and a 1-2 min break in between each circuit.

Below are links to the exercises that may be unfamiliar:

Kettlebell sumo high pull

bent over dumbbell tricep extension

floor leg lifts

Kettlebell twists

front deltoid press

dumbbell row

dumbbell overhead tricep extension

One thought on “Ab sandwich workout!

  1. Love your workout!!! I totally know the drained feeling! The sleep part does get better, but then you are just chasing around a toddler so you are just as tired ;)! I honestly workout WAY less now than I used to and I am in better shape. I think from carrying a 22 lb toddler and chasing after him all day. PS Your baby is adorable!!

Leave a Reply

