Hello friends!

It has been nine long weeks since I have even looked at my blog. I feel like a slacker because I planned on starting back a month after having Joseph, but I also had no idea how busy an infant would keep me!

Motherhood has been amazing and tiring so far! I don’t think anyone can really know what to expect when having their first child. Honestly, I had expected it to be a whole lot worse than it was the first few weeks. I had heard horror stories about people not feeling any love toward their child at first and how they didn’t even want to take them home because they didn’t even like them all that much. This horrified me because I know that it can be common and the most wonderful, loving people can feel this way. It is not their fault it’s their emotions going haywire but its still scary!

I was so relieved when I first held Joseph and had an overwhelming amount of love towards him. I knew I would, but in case you haven’t heard, sometimes when you are pregnant you can be a little emotional and irrational.

I loved him at first sight and the love grows more and more each day. I have to admit I have become just a tad bit attached, therefore making him just the slightest bit spoiled. J I am fortunate enough to be able to stay home with him and I tell my husband every day how much it means to me that he works as hard as he does so I can. I love being able to watch him grow every day and I don’t want to miss anything because at this age they change so quickly.

Having said all this, I do want to talk about what this blog is all about- fitness! Before having my baby I was working out up until the day I went into labor and this made my pregnancy pretty easy. I was barely sick the whole time, I had more energy, I was able to get a good night rest up until about a month or two before his due date and I didn’t experience any swelling or back pain until about the last month of pregnancy. Also, I was hardly ever hormonal. I had a few moments, but even those weren’t that bad.

Now as for the scary part- labor. Let me just say that I was terrified of this. I have always been afraid of it. When we went to our baby class I could not watch the videos because it freaked me out too much to think I would actually be going through such a miserable, disgusting process. I never would have thought that it would actually be the most enjoyable moment of my life.

I will not get into details because this is not that kind of blog, but what I will say is that I am glad that I was in such good shape because it made a world of difference during labor. It went extremely well and there were no complications. I was able to get back to normal life quickly and painlessly. It has also been easier to lose the baby weight and get back into pre- pregnancy shape. I still have a ways to go as far as toning, but I have lost all but about five pounds of the pregnancy weight.

I started working out two weeks after delivery. I was able to pick up the intensity pretty quick. I pushed myself as hard as I could until my body told me what was enough. I have learned that it is important to listen to your body because it will allow you to push your limits and let you know if something is not right.

I have been working out at least four days a week and up to six days. I have created exercise plans for myself that I will share with you all because they have been extremely beneficial to whipping me back into shape! I hope you guys try these and see results. If you have any questions about them than let me know! I am excited to be back and to share this journey of a happy, healthy life with you all!

I usually do the upper and lower body twice a week each. I do the workouts for about two weeks then change it up. On the other days I will do a yoga practice and some sort of HIIT routine.

With the upper and lower body routines you can do three sets of each rep for each exercise or you can turn it into interval training by doing one set of each exercise with a 1-2 minute burst of cardio in between each exercise. Do the whole thing three times through. I have been doing the interval training because it still hurts me to run.

Click on the links for pictures and an explanation on how to do the exercise.

UPPER BODY

Upper body workout 1 (2 to 3 sets of 12 to 15 reps)

Dumbbell Raise

Standing Palms-In Dumbbell Press

Around The Worlds

tricep chair Dips

Pushups

Wrist Rotation

Plank 30 seconds

Upper body workout 2 (2 to 3 sets of 12 to 15 reps)

Push-up with side plank (each side)

Weighted ball hyperextension

around the worlds

One arm dumbbell row

Triangle push-ups

Standing Palm-In One-Arm Dumbbell Press (each side)

Dumbbell Shoulder Press

Kettlebell Sumo High Pull

Upper Body Workout 3 (Do 2-3 sets of 12-15 reps)

Inchworm pushup

Kettlebell sumo high pull

One-Legged Curl

Forearm Press

T pushup

Plank Press

Tricep extension

LOWER BODY

Lower body workout 1 (Do 2-3 sets of 12-15 reps)

Physioball Hip Bridge

Glute Kickback (each leg)

Flutter Kicks

Plie Dumbbell Squat

Stiff-Legged Dumbbell Deadlift

Pilates leg circles (each leg)

Lower body workout 2 (Do 2-3 sets of 12-15 reps)

Plank glute kickback

Kneeling Roundhouse Kick

Push kick

Pilates heel beat

Star jump

Plie dumbbell squats

Goblet squat

Lower body workout 3 (Do 2-3 sets of 12-15 reps)

Stiff-Legged Dumbbell Deadlift

Saddlebag Buster

Jumping squat

Prone hamstring curl

Weighted clam bridge

Single leg hip lifts

Dead lift

Inner Thigh Sculptor

 

2 thoughts on “Exercises to get your PRE BABY BOOTY BACK!

Leave a Reply

