NURSERY PICTURES and MY advice on pregnancy!

Happy Sunday everyone! I cannot believe it is already July! This is a big month in the Murphy household! Joseph is expected to arrive on the 30th!! I can finally say I will be having a baby THIS month. The past 8 months have felt like a whirlwind. Preparing for your first baby is an experience like no other. It is exciting, overwhelming and nerve-racking at the same time. I have been extremely blessed to have such amazing friends and family supporting me along the way. I am also beyond thankful for my amazing husband who has been so supportive and patient with me the whole time. This is a new experience for both of us and it has been great to experience it and learn together.

So here are some pictures of Joseph’s Nursery!! Finally completed and ready to go!

I know this blog is geared toward fitness, but I wanted to take the time out today to share some tips and things I have learned on my pregnancy journey.

1. My biggest advice I can give to anyone who is pregnant is to continue to be active and exercise! I know some of you may be tired of hearing that but it honestly has made my pregnancy so enjoyable and smooth. Yes, there has been times where I have been exhausted, miserable and sick – but for the majority of the time I have felt great. There has been times in the pregnancy where I have never felt better. Your body goes through such an enormous change in such a short amount of time, so don’t you think that having it in great shape will help the process?? Makes sense to me.

2. Sleep. sleep as much as you can in the first and second trimester because pretty soon you will be huge and it is so much harder to get comfortable! Take as many naps as you can during the day so if you are not sleeping at night at least you will be getting some zzz’s in. Sleeping on your left side is also the best way to go because it prevents your hands and feet from swelling.

3. Try to eat lot’s of small meals a day and do not eat late at night. This will help if you are feeling nauseous and might be the only thing you can do anyways. This has helped me because I have experienced MAJOR heartburn and it is extremely bad at night. If you still are having problems with the heartburn than try sleeping with your head elevated. I feel like I am almost sleeping upright at times, but it helps.

4. Drink lot’s of water. This is especially important if you are pregnant in the summer! Dehydration can cause contractions and can trigger preterm labor. You are also carrying important nutrients to your baby, so drink up!

5. Listen to your body. It sounds cliché I know, but it truly knows what is best for you. I learned to do this through exercising during my pregnancy. If I listened to my body I knew when I was doing too much and I slowed down. I know it is completely healthy for people to run right up until their due date but my body did not feel comfortable doing it. I quit running around five months and found other things that my body did agree to. This goes for your everyday life. Your body is already working hard making a human being – do not overexert yourself other ways. If you are tired and your feet are swollen the best thing to do is put your feet up and rest! I had a hard time with this at first. For some reason I felt bad, or lazy because I had slowed down. Finally, I realized that listening to my body not only benefits me, but my baby! If it is hard for you to slow down or take a break just think of what is best for the little miracle you are making in your body! If you won’t do it for yourself than do it for the baby!

6. Enjoy this time you have bonding with your baby. You are literally making a miracle in your belly – and you can actually FEEL it happening! Talk to your baby and rub your belly. Take in all of it because you will never have this time with your child again.

7. Go on lot’s of dates and spend as much time with your significant other as you can! Never again will you get this much freedom. Do as many fun things as your growing belly will let you do. Also, I think it is important to be aware of the fact how much your lives and relationship will change. Be positive, but do not have rose-colored glasses about it. It will be hard and most marriages suffer after a baby comes into the picture. I feel like it is important to educate yourselves on this. Read books and articles on it so you will be prepared when the going gets tough.

I hope my experience will help you all when the time comes! If anyone else has some tips than leave a comment and let me know!

Have a great week everyone!

One thought on “NURSERY PICTURES and MY advice on pregnancy!

  1. Great post Heather! This is such a special time and truly displays Gods work not only in the miracle made but the bond between you and your husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

